Heey, what is your opinion on honey? ? | Totally Vegan Buzz
Ask Vegans AnythingCategory: QuestionsHeey, what is your opinion on honey? ?

Heey, what is your opinion on honey? ?

AvatarSarahschechinger10 asked 3 years ago
Share:

7 Answers
AvatarFriendsnoyfood answered 3 years ago

Bees work very hard to create honey and most bee keeping practice aren’t the most ethical. They typically rip the wings off the queen bee so they can’t leave. Exploitation of animals is exploitation of animals even if they are “just bugs”. If not abstaining from honey for ethical reasons, then just do to be a consistent vegan

AvatarJake.lx answered 3 years ago

Technically honey is not vegan (vegan society UK) and maple syrup is a fine substitute

AvatarAnnie answered 3 years ago

Bees are a form of exploitation, just like pigs, sheep etc. Bees collect pollen, bring it back to the hive, they then vomit up the pollen which makes the honey. Honey is then stored to feed the bees during the colder months. Honey is basically bee food. The queen has her wings clipped to prevent her from flying to another hive. Many bees get squashed during the harvesting when the beekeeper removes the sections. Honey is definitely not vegan. One honey bee typically produces only quarter of teaspoon of honey in its lifespan of about 5 years. All that hard work and then humans steal it. Hope this answer helps ? ?

AvatarAdrian answered 2 years ago

My opinion is… Honey is made by bees for a reason. That reason is not so it can be put in a jar and sold in Walmart. Honey is not vegan. Maple syrup and agarve are plant-based.

AvatarI HATE VEGANS answered 1 year ago

I’m an apiculturist and we do not rip the wings off the queen, the queen is free to go at any time but it doesn’t because the hive is big enough and has enough room for honey storage and for breeding, NOBODY HERE KNOWS WHAT THEY ARE TALKING ABOUT 🖕

AvatarDylan answered 12 months ago

To the apicultilurist: do you think all of this is being made up? Everything said by everyone else here is easily and readily refutable. What’s being described is industry standard. You clearly need to educate yourself on this subject and also on what veganism is actually about.

AvatarVegan Light answered 4 months ago

To the apiculturist; bees actually aid us with our sensors which we use in totally wild nature instead of reading maps. Sort of like the sensors which send guess which direction you have just come from and which way you are heading and also help one find maybe like stream or a pond on your ramble and the moment you take their honey they don’t offer this extremely valuable sharp sense of guidance to us any more and they can sense I your pheromones if you have taken their honey off them. if you work with bees you will be in this way as your standard and might even think you have to protect yourself form bees but not if you are a not honey eating vegan. we don’t get that sticky honey feeling honey bees can make you feel you belong in. lol each to their own, you call yourself an apiculturist so you can’t be ‘told’ to just quit honey, you just don’t get their guidance, that’s all but other curious vegans can be advised honey is most definitely not a vegan food.

Answer this question

Thank you for taking the time to answer this question. We request that all questions are answered kindly, genuinely and patiently. If you have a new question to ask, please click here.

Related